PHP Classes

mysql linked select

Recommend this page to a friend!

PHP Forms Class with HTML Generator and JavaScript Validation  >  All threads  >  mysql linked select  >  (Un) Subscribe thread alerts  
Subject:mysql linked select
Summary:I wonder if there is an example of how the above class is used
Author:Geoff Stacey
Date:2011-12-11 15:50:07
Update:2012-02-16 16:52:57

1. mysql linked select   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Geoff Stacey Geoff Stacey - 2011-12-11 15:50:07
I am a newbie at php classes. I have implemented a couple of basic forms but don't quite get how the plugins work. I want to allow selection of a tables index field so that a I can create a link between one table and another possibly using form_mysql_linked_select_class.php. I have inserted the following code into my form:

$form->AddInput(array(
"TYPE"=>"custom",
"NAME"=>"rep_code",
"ID"=>"rep_code",
"LABEL"=>"Re<u>p</u> Code",
"ACCESSKEY"=>"P",
"CustomClass"=>"form_mysql_linked_select_class",
"Connection"=>"localhost,$username,$password",
"OptionsQuery"=>"SELECT refno FROM rep"
));

I am sure there are some syntax errors in the Connection, but I don't see any specific example in the forum. I just get a totally blank field without even a label when I run this. Any help would be very much appreciated

2. Re: mysql linked select   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Geoff Stacey Geoff Stacey - 2011-12-11 20:23:01 - In reply to message 1 from Geoff Stacey
I have managed to find the example and have done a bit of cut and paste to produce some code which gets me up a small bit of the way. I am trying to bring up just one table's data, rather than have a group and select data from that, but it seems you have to have a group? So I put in a dummy group and just searched for all the data in my table as follows:

$groups = array( "R"=>"Reps", "O"=>"Other" );

$form->AddInput(array(
"TYPE"=>"select",
"ID"=>"rep",
"NAME"=>"rep",
"LABEL"=>"Rep",
"VALUE"=>"",
"OPTIONS"=>$groups,
"ValidateAsNotEmpty"=>1,