PHP Classes

Problems with paths and db.php

Recommend this page to a friend!

Forums Integrator  >  All threads  >  Problems with paths and db.php  >  (Un) Subscribe thread alerts  
Subject:Problems with paths and db.php
Summary:Potentially great class, but worthless w/o documentation
Author:iworld admin
Date:2006-08-08 00:35:54
Update:2006-08-09 13:21:41

1. Problems with paths and db.php   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of iworld admin iworld admin - 2006-08-08 00:35:54
This could be a really great class, many people are obviously trying to integrate with phpBB and there seem to be few options. Unfortunately many of us are not great programmers. I have lots of php scripts and have dopne lots of hacks to get them customized, but I'm not a programmer. I don't like programming. I just want to get something done.

So I tried this class and this is where I'm at:

I added the file as it is to my directory with login and user management scripts. Called phpbb.php

I log the user into my system then called the class this way:

$x= new phpbb('patch/to/phpbb/');
$x->login($username, $password);

The first thing I found is that in php 4 the "public" needs to be removed on ALL functions and not just the first. That wasn't really clear.

Then I got an error that it couldn't open config.php due to the path being outside the openbase dir restriction. Which it is not. So I changed the class call to this:

$x= new phpbb('/www/vhosts/csac/phpbb2/');
$x->login($username, $password);

I'm guessing that maybe 'patch/to/phpbb' means to put the path to the phpBB directory there. If so I'm not sure if that needs to be done within the phpbb.php file also or not.

Still had path problems so in the login function I replaced the three instances of

require_once( $this->patch . "

with

require_once( "/www/vhosts/csac/phpBB2/

This explicit path definition seemed to allow it to get a bit further.

However, now I get an error related to the phpBB includes/db.php function: