PHP Classes

FloIcon usage

Recommend this page to a friend!

floIcon  >  All threads  >  FloIcon usage  >  (Un) Subscribe thread alerts  
Subject:FloIcon usage
Summary:Use floIcon in a CMS template
Author:Argo Navis
Date:2013-01-14 13:34:52
Update:2013-01-19 11:25:36

1. FloIcon usage   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Argo Navis Argo Navis - 2013-01-14 13:34:52
Hi,

Thank you for this great library. I'd like to use it in a CMS template, and I'd like to know if the previous license still applies, or if there is a newer distribution model.

2. Re: FloIcon usage   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Joshua hatfield Joshua hatfield - 2013-01-14 15:23:14 - In reply to message 1 from Argo Navis
The original still applies. Being a web developer, I would question the use of windows icon files in web application though. It's effectively an obsolete format because all the web browsers accept png's as favicons nowadays.

3. Re: FloIcon usage   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Argo Navis Argo Navis - 2013-01-14 21:28:27 - In reply to message 2 from Joshua hatfield
Good point, and thank you for your prompt reply.

4. Re: FloIcon usage   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Joshua hatfield Joshua hatfield - 2013-01-14 21:48:38 - In reply to message 3 from Argo Navis
No problem.

5. Re: FloIcon usage   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Argo Navis Argo Navis - 2013-01-18 09:58:05 - In reply to message 4 from Joshua hatfield
Good morning,

I carefully verified which browsers support png favicons, and Internet Explorer 8 doesn't. It is, however, still in use, with many units of Windows XP relying on it; which makes it necessary for me to support icon files generation.

In the context of a commercial CMS, I plan on:
1) Adding the floIcon license text (inside the relevant directory of the distributed software).